Save up to 75% on insurance

Cheapest rates from just $19 a month

Enter your zip code

Insurance Library

QuoteLab.com

Auto Insurance in South Dakota

The State of South Dakota currently requires that all drivers be covered under liability auto insurance and that proof of car insurance always be carried within the vehicle at any moment.

If you have a registered vehicle in the state, you are obligated by law to obtain South Dakota auto insurance or other proof of financial responsibility.

South Dakota Minimum Liability Coverage

Liability coverage is required by law in the State of South Dakota. The minimum liability amounts for the State of South Dakota are as follows:

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person.
  • $50,000 total bodily injury per accident.
  • $25,000 total property damage per accident.

Remember that these are only the minimum requirements set by the state. Experts always advise that drivers get more than the state-mandated minimums, particularly if you have assets you need to protect, since these limits have not kept pace with the skyrocketing costs of car repairs and medical care. Also, getting liability coverage alone will not cover you in case of damage to your own car, so most drivers will want to add collision and comprehensive coverage to their policies.

Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Some, not all, states will require that drivers carry UM/UIM, also known as uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage will protect the driver in the event that an accident occurs and the other party does not have auto insurance.

The State of South Dakota currently requires UM/UIM coverage.

No-Fault Insurance

South Dakota is a not no-fault state, so no-fault insurance is not required.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

PIP is an extension of car insurance available in some U.S. states that covers medical expenses and, in some cases, lost wages and other damage.

The State of South Dakota current does not require drivers to carry PIP insurance.

South Dakota SR-22 Requirements

SR-22 is a document that is required to be filed with a state's DMV as proof that the minimum liability coverage for the state is being carried. Not everyone needs an SR-22 filing. SR-22s are typically required for a driver to reinstate their driving privileges after an offense such as a DUI conviction, uninsured auto accident, or driving without proof of insurance.

South Dakota currently requires an SR-22 filing to reinstate a driver's license.

South Dakota DUI Laws

For the first DUI offense in the State of South Dakota, you will face the following maximum penalties:

  • Up to 1 year imprisonment
  • $1,000 fine
  • 30 days to 1 year license suspension
  • Possible restricted license
  • SR-22 insurance required

Additional Information on South Dakota Insurance

For additional information, you can contact the South Dakota Division of Insurance at (605) 773-3563 or go to their website at www.state.sd.us/drr2/reg/insurance/index.html.

Read more about the Most Popular Auto Insurance Carriers in SD.